Nominations Open

1 February, 2024

Nominations Close

29 April, 2024

Nominee Judging

May - July, 2024

Awards Dinner

3 August, 2024

Illuminating the best in Australia’s electrical industry


The Electrical Industry Excellence Awards is the industry’s pre-eminent award series, designed to celebrate and showcase the quality of our industry.

The National Excellence Awards acknowledges the achievements across the breadth of the electrical contracting industry and showcase the outstanding work and excellence of individuals and businesses in Australia.

Nominations open

Who can enter?


Electrical contractors and their teams from all across the country are eligible to participate in every award category except for one. The exclusive category of Master Electrician of the Year is specifically reserved for both Master Electricians and their staff members.

We encourage you to explore the ten different categories listed below and consider the nominations you can make.

Multiple category submissions are encouraged. If you would like to nominate for more than one category, please click on the ‘+ New Application‘ icon when completing the submission form.

How to enter 

Follow our 6 step guide! 

To get started, simply create a login via our event registration form, available here. If you already have an account from a previous year, you can easily log in using your original password.

Before submitting your nomination, make sure you have obtained your client’s permission to share project information and images. This will greatly support your nomination in the Excellence Awards.

Take some time to review the submission questions. It’s a good idea to gather all the necessary information, project details, and images beforehand. For larger categories, you can even save your progress and return to it later. But we highly recommend doing some initial work upfront to make the process smoother.

Now’s the time to get cracking with your submission! The entry process is straightforward and involves answering a series of questions and uploading supporting documentation. The time required to complete it varies, ranging anywhere from 10 to 30 minutes, depending on the category.  We know you can do it!

Once you’re satisfied with your nomination, simply submit it. Good luck!

Depending on the category, the next exciting phase of the process may involve a skills challenge (for Apprentice and Electrician categories) or an official judging panel interview with industry experts. Finalists will then be announced in July!

Submissions close Monday 29 April, 2024

If you have any questions on the entry process, please contact us via email [email protected]

Contact Us

  • Terms and Conditions
    1. The Electrical Industry Excellence Awards (Awards) are conducted by Master Electricians Association, Queensland Industrial Organisation of Employers (“MEA”)


    1. In these terms and conditions of entry (Terms), unless otherwise stated, a reference to “you” or “your” includes you in your personal capacity.


    1. Master Electricians are eligible to enter any/all award categories. Electrical contractors who are not Master Electricians can enter any category excluding Master Electrician of the Year (business).


    1. To enter, you must comply with the Terms; submit your entry and be available to attend Awards events and associated activities, including judging days.


    1. We reserve the right to declare your entry ineligible, or disqualify your entry if, during the Period, in the sole discretion of us if: you are unable to represent or promote the Awards in a satisfactory manner; or you have not complied with these Terms and/or the entry form is incomplete; or we determine that you or your business is involved in any conduct or any activity (of both a personal or business nature) that is illegal; is fraudulent; or may harm us, our name or reputation; or Information provided by you is deficient, false, misleading, or provided unlawfully.


    1. We reserve the right to disqualify entries at any time in the event of non-compliance with these Terms.


    1. State and Territory Awards: Finalists in each Award Category will be eligible to win that Award for their State or Territory.


    1. Category winners in each State or Territory will be eligible to win an Award at the National final in their respective category.


    1. We do not provide feedback on entries. We may review publicly available information regarding you/your business, including on websites, social media and in media activity in assessing and judging your entry.


    1. We collect personal information (as defined in the Privacy Act 1988 (Cth) and other information relating to your business operations in various ways, such as in the entry form and on judging days. If you do not provide the personal and business information requested, you cannot participate in the Awards. All entries become the property of Master Electricians Australia.


    1. By participating in the Awards, you consent for us to use and disclose your personal information for the purposes of Administering the Awards and as set out in our Privacy Statement available here, and to our related entities, business partners, agencies, sponsors and other parties engaged to provide services in connection with the Awards


    1. You agree that your consent continues with us unless otherwise withdrawn. If you wish to withdraw your consent to receive marketing material email us at [email protected].


    1. By entering the Awards, you agree that during and after the Period, you will participate and co-operate as required with all reasonable marketing activities, including but not limited to being interviewed, videoed, and photographed. We reserve the right to use any materials supplied by you and created by us, in connection with your entry to the Awards or the promotion of the Awards without compensation.


    1. To the extent permitted by law, we are not liable for any loss (including indirect and consequential loss) or damage or personal injury suffered or sustained in connection with the Awards including the supply of goods or services by any person to you, and where applicable to any persons accompanying you.


    1. The judges’ decision is final, and no correspondence will be entered into.


    1. We accept no responsibility for any tax or other liabilities or expenses that may arise from your participation in the Awards.


    1. We have the right to alter or cancel part or all of the Awards at any time without notice to you.
What’s New

MEA is committed to improving and evolving what we do. The Excellence Awards are extremely successful in acknowledging and celebrating the amazing quality and skill within our industry.  We recently undertook a review to ensure the award categories represented the diversity of projects, emerging sectors and innovation occurring in our industry.  Based on the review findings, we’ve made five changes to the award categories.

What’s Changed

  • Apprentice of the Year now has two categories – 1st & 2nd year AND 3rd & 4th year
  • Project of the Year categories have been combined and split into two categories:
      • Projects under $1M (electrical component)
      • Project over $1M (electrical component).
  • Clean Energy Project of the Year  – this category encompasses all renewables and energy efficiency.
  • Emerging Business of the Year – this category recognises achievement and business growth in the critical early years (to be eligible for this category your business must be a new contracting business less than 7 years old).
  • Service Business of the Year – awarded to an electrical contractor undertaking service/maintenance work who demonstrates outstanding commitment to the customer, quality workmanship and efficient operational processes.

View the 2023 Excellence Awards Winners